top of page
  • Writer's pictureKhaled Deakin

Khaled Deakin. No longer have a refugee status.

When I arrived in Exeter in 2017, I didn't know anyone here and I didn't speak any English at all. Then I decided to join the world of social media.


I sent friend requests and getting good messages from most of those I sent a request to. One message said that "I have a boyfriend", another said "why are you sending me, do i know you?", and the others side "I have kids".


When I think about it, I feel ashamed of myself.

The goal was who I am today after 5+ years in Exeter.


To help and make friends and integrate into the community and I did it.


I want to tell everyone who knows me on social media and in real life?

The Syrian refugee who arrived in your country is here to help everyone who needs help. As you made me and my family so welcome here, we will never forget your generosity, hospitality as a wonderful community.


We are here to help those who need our help as much as we can, it doesn't matter where they come from, or which religion they believe.


The Mettre that they are human beings and they need help.


I no longer have a refugee status and I feel for all human beings who live under harsh conditions due to wars, disasters......etc.


Just be Kind to others and be helpful, life will be much better.

Read, listen and watch more about Khaled Deakin - Community Activist.









46 views0 comments

Khaled Wakkaa

  • Khaled Wakkaa
bottom of page